Bristol Ensemble

27 April 2018, 1.15 PM - 27 April 2018, 2.00 PM

John Pickard, conductor

Auditorium, Victoria Rooms

Webern, Symphony Op.21

Schoenberg, Chamber Symphony No.1 Op.9 (original version for 15 instruments)

The Bristol Ensemble presents two of twentieth century music’s greatest masterpieces. Schoenberg’s super-concentrated Chamber Symphony of 1906 distills the essence of the late-Romantic symphony into 20 actionpacked minutes, while Webern’s extraordinary Symphony of 1928, scored for just nine players, has been described by the composer George Benjamin as ‘weightless - a complex, crystal-like object hovering in space’.

Edit this page