View all news

Alumni in Queen's New Year's honours 2018

16 January 2018

Following the announcement of the Queen’s New Year's Honours list, we're delighted to congratulate Bristol alumni and staff who have been recognised for their outstanding achievements and service.


  • Marcus Willett OBE (BA 1985), Director General, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, for services to national security. 

Knighthood (Kt)    


  • Ranjit Lal Dheer (Cert Ed 1970), for services to local government and to charity.
  • Bernice McCabe (BA 1973, PGCE 1974), Headmistress, North London Collegiate School, for services to education.
  • Deborah Moggach (BA 1970, DLitt 2005), for services to literature and drama.
  • Dr Lynsey Pinfield (PhD 2004), Grade 6 British Defence Staff Washington, for services to international defence relations.
  • Nicholas Wheeler (BSc 1987), Founder and Managing Director, Charles Tyrwhitt Shirts, for services to retail.


  • Dr Martin Seah (BSc 1963), Emeritus Senior Fellow in Surface and Nanoanalysis, National Physical Laboratory, for services to measurement science.
  • Christopher Whiteside (BSc 1983), for political and public service.
  • James Williams (LLB 1962), for services to the Shrievalty and the community in Hertfordshire.

Further information

If you're a Bristol graduate and we haven't listed you here, it may be that we don't have your details. We'd love to hear from you, so please do get in touch with us at to share your achievements.