View all news

Alumni in New Year honours list 2016

20 January 2016

Congratulations to all Bristol alumni who were presented with an award in the New Year honours list 2016.


  • Professor Paul Curran (PhD 1979, DSc 1991), Vice-Chancellor, City University London, for services to higher education.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) 

  • Professor Vivienne Bennett (MSc 1996, Hon LLD 2015), Chief Nurse, Public Health England, for services to nursing.
  • Dr Caroline Harper OBE (BSc 1981, Hon DSc 2013), Chief Executive Officer, Sightsavers, for services to visually impaired people abroad.
  • Mr Rowan Malcolm Douglas (MPhil 1993), Chief Executive Officer, Capital Science and Policy Practice, Willis Group, for services to the economy through risk, insurance and sustainable growth.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

  • Ms Alison Allden (BA 1976), formerly Chief Executive, Higher Education Statistics Agency Limited, for services to higher education.
  • Professor Margaret Jane Dallman (BSc 1978), Associate Provost (academic partnerships), Imperial College London, for services to bioscience.

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) 

  • Laura Young (BSc 1990), Co-Founder, Teapot Trust, for services to chronically ill children in Scotland.
  • Ms Claire Hodgson (BA 1992), Chief Executive, Diverse City, for services to inclusion in the arts. 

Commander of the Royal Victorian Order (CVO)

  • Mr Gerrard Tyrrell MVO (LLB 1978), Solicitor, Harbottle and Lewis.

Further information

You can see the entire New Year honours list 2016 online. If you're a Bristol graduate and we haven't listed you here, it may be that we don't have your details. We'd love to hear from you, so please do get in touch with us at to share your achievements. 

Two staff were also recognised in the New Year honours list 2016: