TELAN (Technology Enhanced Learning Advisers Network)


The Technology Enhanced Learning Advisers Network is a working group of Education Committee.

Main purpose of the committee/group:

To promote pedagogic innovation with technology to improve learning and teaching and the student experience at all levels within the University.

Specific tasks:

  1. Identify and oversee the development of learning communities and networks.
  2. Identify and disseminate good practice within and across Faculties.
  3. Advise and making recommendations through the CIO and Director of TEL and Education Development to appropriate bodies and committees.
  4. Form a network of expertise to inform and advice on relevant developments.
  5. Conduct internal and external horizon scanning of relevant practice and developments.
  6. Inform the development and delivery of relevant strategy, policy and guidance, including support for the development of faculty and school strategies.

The network aims to be a relatively informal flexible expert network and as such will not have a budget but will make recommendations.

Advisory (to Education IT Board, UUSC, UGSC):

- Update Education IT Board on pedagogic innovation, and the outcomes of projects and initiatives in general, and as they relate to TELAN role in developing networked learning.
- Make regular contributions to University Undergraduate Studies Committee (UUSC) and University Graduate Studies Committee (UGSC), particularly to update or share good practice in the use of digital technologies to support learning and teaching.


NameArea of responsibility
Mr Colin Dalton (Chair) UG Faculty Education Director Engineering (Chair)
Dr Chris Adams Academic TELAN Rep Faculty of Science
Dr Gus Cameron Director of Chemlabs, School of Biochemistry 
Mr Mike Cameron TEL Manager
Mr Neil Davey Student IT Experience Manager, IT Services
Mr Roger Gardner TEL Educational Development Manager
Ms Hilary Griffiths Technology Enhanced Learning Service Manager, TEL Team 
Dr Philip Langton Academic TELAN Rep, Faculty of Biomedical Sciences
Mr Damien McManus Subject Librarian, Library Services
Mr Luke Taylor Assistant Director, Systems Development, IT Services
Mr Rhys Taylor Representation & Quality Coordinator
Dr Sue Timmis Senior Lecturer in Technology Enhanced Learning, Graduate School of Education
Ms Gloria Visintini Academic TELAN Rep Faculty of Arts
Dr Jane Williams Academic TELAN Rep Faculty of Health Sciences
Vacant Academic TELAN Rep Faculty of Social Sciences and Law

Agenda and minutes

Agendas and minutes are only available within the university network (see remote (off-site) access help pages for information about connecting to the university's network at home or on the move).